Going Gluten Free

By | April 11, 2013

Going Gluten Free

Over a year ago I made the health decision to go gluten free by removing all wheat, grains and gluten from my diet.  It was a big decision however once made was pretty easy however gluten is a sneaky ingredient and is in so many things that I never realized.  Today I will share some ideas to help you if you are considering going gluten free. (Be sure to read to the end to get your FREE report)

The simplest way to avoid gluten is to eat real food.  If you can pick it, pluck it, milk it or shoot it that is real food.  I have heard many times this is the food on the outer perimeter of the grocery store.  Yet there are definitely some things to consider.

So, going gluten free is a lot more complex than just not including wheat from your nutritional regime. If you are living with celiac disease, gluten intolerance or gluten sensitivity it really does becomes evident at once just how many foods have gluten in them.  There are lots of obvious foods like bread, pasta, baked goods, bagels, crackers and pizza, yet there will also be many foods that are not so obvious.  This was the real shocker for me!

When learning about the foods that contain gluten and must not be included in a diet it is really important to understand that a small amount of gluten can and does create big problems.  In fact if you think about your thumb nail and then break that down to 1/8 th’s in size that much gluten a day can be a big health problem!

The first thing I did was get rid of the condiments as this is where you will find gluten and many don’t even realize it. I found this was a really easy thing to do.

Condiments

So, the Malt vinegar and Worcestershire sauce are made from barley and contain gluten. Soy sauce is made from wheat and contains gluten.

Many condiments are uncertain as you think about gluten. They might or might not have wheat rye or barley in them.   Checking labels for condiments will be important.

These are the condiments that would be important to check labels: Ketchup, mustard, relish, pickles, olives, salad dressing taco sauce and tomato sauce.

Candy and Other Goodies

Now I gave up all candies because they tend to contain gluten.

Cookies and cakes might be really obvious with the gluten content, the filling in pies and pastries may not be. It is the thickening agents used in fillings for fruit pies and custards are most likely to be prepared with some amount of gluten.

Spice Mixes

Gluten is used as a thickening agent and so it would be better to purchase spices individually and make your own mixes to avoid the gluten.  Again be sure to check the labels.

Fried Foods

French Fries on their own would be considered gluten free however they are most likely fried in the same oil as the breaded products.  This kind of contamination will be the problem.

Flavoured or Roasted Nuts

Choosing raw nuts will ensure that there is no gluten.  You can prepare your own flavorings/toppings at home using the spice mixes prepared by you.

Beverages

Malt is a product of barley is on the forbidden list when it comes to living gluten free. Beer, whiskey and ale are all products of malt. Chocolate, and other flavoured milks may contain malt as well. Non-dairy creamer often contains gluten.

Some brands of instant coffee may contain gluten. As a way to save money, some manufacturers will add wheat flour to add volume. Check the ingredients on the label of instant coffee or opt for organic or brewed.

Dairy

Yogurt, ice cream and frozen yogurt often contain gluten. Look for gluten free brands and avoid ice cream and frozen yogurt when dining out.

Flavourings

Flavourings and seasonings are often made from malt or rye and those will contain gluten. Again it is better to prepare your own spice mixes at home using spices that are sure not to contain gluten!

Non Stick Cooking Spray

Some cooking sprays are partially made of flour, which is a wheat-based product.

Things to Watch For

Some of the words to watch out for on the label or list of ingredients include, binder or binding, thickening or thickener, edible starch, gum base, filler, modified food starch or modified starch, triticale, rusk, wheat alternative, special edible starch, hydrolysed, plant protein or any phrase containing the word wheat.

There are a number of other ingredients, which may or may not be gluten free. Natural flavours, emulsifiers, monosodium glutamate and lecithin are ones to look out for.

The Non Food Products Containing Gluten

Non-edible products that are indirectly ingested may also contain gluten. If your intolerances are severe enough, it may be wise to keep these in mind. Lipstick, toothpaste and some prescription and over the counter medications may contain gluten. Check the label of any products that may make contact with the mouth and ask your pharmacist about any medication.

In Conclusion

Now that you can see just how broad the list is of foods that contain gluten, it is clear just how difficult going gluten free can be. It will take time to realize the details and be familiar with the terms but it definitely can be done. Reading labels, checking ingredients and teaching yourself is the most important aspect of this transition. Going through the education period to understand how to eat gluten free diet can be made simple and the health benefits for those with gluten intolerances and sensitivities will be immeasurable.

 

Action step: Remove all condiments from your diet for 1 week and record how you feel.

Renegade Doctor Reveals Why 92% of So-Called
“Gluten-Free” Diets FAIL and How You MUST Eat
for Lifelong Health and Rapid Fat Loss


Let today be your day! Talk soon,

5 thoughts on “Going Gluten Free

  1. Rachel Flower

    Thank you for this. Really clear. Great information. Lots of important things to look out for that I didn’t know. Thank you!!!

    Reply
    1. Wendy Bottrell Post author

      Thanks for connecting. My pleasure. Let me know how I can help.

      Reply
  2. Izabela

    Always great information I learn from you Wendy.Thank you and keep at it.:)

    Reply
  3. Wendy Bottrell Post author

    Hi Jocelyn, thanks for connecting again! I know exactly what you mean by setbacks! Have had a few myself. It is more challenging when I go out to eat more than when I eat at home. I do agree food tastes better! 🙂 Thanks for the resource. Always great to know. I also found Simply Organic and have been using them. Best Regards, Wendy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *