Is Alcohol Gluten Free For The Holidays?

By | November 13, 2013

Is Alcohol Gluten Free For The Holidays?

As we are coming into holiday season, Thanksgiving for our American friends and Christmas right around the corner (my goodness where has the year gone) I thought I would address the question Is Alcohol Gluten Free?

When you are  eliminating gluten, it’s very important to ask  is alcohol gluten free?  How will you be affected by alcoholic beverages because you definitely don’t want to feel horrible during the holiday season!  You may not have thought much about how alcohol is made, but it can affect your exposure to gluten.

Any beverages that are made from wheat, barley, or rye contain gluten.  That means that malted alcoholic beverage that are made from barley also contain the gluten protein.  If you are living gluten free, you’ll want to avoid those beverages.

That mainly includes beer.  However, there are other malted beverages such as wine coolers that are malted.  It’s important to make sure that before you drink an alcoholic beverage you check the label to make sure it isn’t made from wheat, barley, or rye.

The good news is that many companies are coming up with ways to remove the gluten from their products so you can actually enjoy some beverages.  They will bear the “gluten-free label”.

Distilled beverages don’t contain gluten.  Even if they’re made from grains that might include gluten, the distillation process removes impurities- and that includes gluten.  That leaves a wide range of spirits that are safe for you to drink even if you have a gluten allergy or just want to remove gluten from your diet.

Vodka, whiskey, tequila, bourbon and most other hard liquors are safe to drink. The one thing you need to watch out for is added flavorings.  If flavorings are added after the distillation process is complete and they contain gluten, then you may have a problem.

Wines are generally safe as they’re made from fermented fruits rather than grains.  That means they don’t contain gluten.  However, you should also take care to look and make sure that there aren’t added flavors to the wine that might contain gluten.

Champagne is also made from fermented fruit, so it falls into the same category as wines.  If you’re not sure what whether or not a beverage is gluten-free, the best thing to do is to contact the manufacturer.

The company that makes the drink will be able to tell you whether or not the finished product contains gluten.  If a manufacturer can’t answer you precisely, then you might be better off just leaving that product alone.

When you’re going gluten-free, you can still enjoy alcoholic beverages as long as you make sure to avoid products that contain gluten.  Alcohol and gluten free living don’t have to be mutually exclusive – there are gluten-free beverages to enjoy.

Here is a list of Gluten Free Alcohol

So is alcohol gluten free?  Yes there are some alcohol’s on the market that are gluten free that you can enjoy this holiday season!  Happy Thanksgiving to all my friends in the United States!

29 experts and opinion leaders gathered to prove to the world that it MUST ask, “Could health issues be caused by gluten?”


Is gluten the cause of your health problems? It very well could be. Fortunately, Dr. Tom O’Bryan has made it part of his personal mission to move this question into today’s conversations between patients and healthcare professionals. Asking it could, potentially, improve the lives of millions now instead of years from now, which is how long it often takes for groundbreaking research to make it to mainstream practice.

The Gluten Summit All-Access Package


Is Alcohol Gluten Free




Article Name
Is Alcohol Gluten Free For The Holidays?
When you are eliminating gluten, it’s very important to ask is alcohol gluten free? How will you be affected by alcoholic beverages because you definitely don't want to feel horrible during the holiday season!

7 thoughts on “Is Alcohol Gluten Free For The Holidays?

  1. Bonnie Gean

    Luckily for me, I don’t drink alcohol so this is one thing I don’t need to worry about. Still, I wasn’t aware that we had to worry about gluten-free alcohol! 🙂

    1. Wendy Bottrell Post author

      Sadly Bonnie Gean gluten is hidden in so many products today! Foods, medications, supplements, personal care products, cosmetics. A land mine of learning what to stay away from and what is ok. Let me know if I can help. Did you get a chance to listen to any of the Gluten Summit? 🙂

  2. Guy Martin

    Hi Wendy,

    Thanks for the insightful article.

    My wife and I rarely drink alcohol and when we do it’s usually wine.

    However, my wife has been concerned about gluten these last couple of years so we find ourselves staying away from wheat products whenever we can.

    Is there a way to determine if someone has a problem with gluten? What would be some of the symptoms?

    I’ve signed up to your newsletter for further info.


    1. Wendy Bottrell Post author

      Thanks for connecting Guy and great question. This post will help you understand what health challenges gluten can cause. /gluten-sensitivity-explained/ One of the easiest things you can do is stop eating all Wheat, Grains, and Gluten for 30 days. Then on the 31st day have it and see how you feel! Let me know if I can help. Best Regards, Wendy

  3. Wendy Bottrell Post author

    Thank you and thanks for connecting. Let me know if I can help 🙂

  4. Sarah

    Hi Wendy

    well am certainly glad that whiskey and wine are gluten free! It hadn’t occurred to me to think about gluten in booze..especially the little nugget about the “added” flavours..probably knocks a few of those alcopops on the head.
    I have noticed bloating after some foods and a friend said knowingly..GLUTEN am off to read your guide now..thanks for all the info you are providing..I think that unless we start looking at the food we eat we are leaving ourselves at the mercy of food manufacturers who care more about profit than health.

    Sarah 🙂

    1. Wendy Bottrell Post author

      Thanks for connecting Sarah! It is very true that we have to start looking at not only our food, but everything we put into our bodies! Thanks for that point! Let me know if I can help. 🙂


Leave a Reply to Guy Martin Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *